My studio and bedroom windows are on the same side of the park. Really tall, no curtains nor any adornments. No verticals either. I like the light of the day invade my rooms. Yesterday, I was thinking about all the activity going on in the park at this time of day, in the summer sunlight, at 5 p.m. I was deciding those windows would give me plenty of opportunity to identify topics for my writing on Curiosity. While I was at the computer, something happened. 30 feet from my window is a fence, separating our property from the park. Two black kids ran into the fence, followed by a white man who was about 30 years old. The two boys were no older than eight or nine years old. One of the boys was smoking, coughing, hitting the fence with one fist, sliding down the fence to sit. I could not count how many puffs he took in ten seconds. The smoke was making artistic swirls in the air with the most beautiful blue color. I could not smell, marinating in my air-conditionned environment.

The loser fellow, with his baseball cap front at the back, loose t-shirt and fat belly looked at me and we locked eyesight. It is easy to see me in the middle of my little studio, in the absence of any window treatment. A few moments later, the “pusher” hit the young smoker like his best pal and they moved towards the street, where they hung on the boardwalk. It took only a minute for the two young boys to lay one on top of the other, on their tummy, completely stone.

Within the first thirty seconds of observing the artistic and blue smoke, I was on the phone calling 911. The park was packed with families enjoying this summer afternoon. I was asked to describe each member of the group, and to leave my phone alone in case there would be a need for more information.

Five minutes later, an unidentified black car parked a few feet from the trio. A man came out and spoke to the white loser. Two minutes later a police car arrived. The policemen talked to the boys, and eventually, the two boys fell on the concrete again in their waiting and prostrated position. The first man started taking notes while talking to the loser. Then a third car, another police car, arrived on the scene. There were now several policemen and one policewoman observing the scene and talking to each other. That is when my phone rang, and I described to one of the policemen what I had observed.

The loser gave his papers, showed he had nothing under his cap…At this point, I did not know if I had misjudged the situation. Notwithstanding, it is not normal to see such a young kid exhaling beautiful & artistic blue smoke in the presence of an adult.

Kids do not need bad friends, bad influences or bad tendencies to get into drugs. Precious and innocent youngsters are pulled from their protective environment like tender flowers, whether from wild fields or groomed beds. In Victoria, British Columbia, I had the most excruciating experience while eating lunch on a bench overlooking the Harbour. A gorgeous blond little lolita arrived and sat on the bench beside mine, accompanied by a tall young asian man. She was about eleven years old, not one year more, pre-pubescent. She was taught how to smoke a joint. The man left and she was approached by a woman who evidently had known better days before her face being ravaged by crystal meth. In the timespace of five minutes, the girl was initiated to increasingly harder drugs, like coke, then other stuff I do not know, ending with an injection. It takes only five minutes to groom someone for “the business”. I did not have a phone with me. I called the police upon my return to the office to describe what I had seen.

In Ottawa yesterday, I had thirty seconds of inattention. When I turned my head back to the window, the black car with dark windows was making a U-turn. The two police cars drove slowly one beside the other, and they seemed to exchange information. The man and two kids were nowhere to be seen.

Five minutes of getting personal attention, five minutes to be important to someone. Give your kids plenty of positive attention, fun, and love. They will not need or be tempted by the attention of metastasis tender flower pullers.

